Japanese Salad with Sesame Dressing

IMG_1732

IMG_1747

Hong Kong is a beautiful, vibrant, (and extremely busy) city. Everywhere you go, you find yourself surrounded with people. Often, I found myself completely lost and drained out of energy as you try to push your way through the crowd. Living in Hong Kong can has it disadvantages but the one thing that I love best about this city  is the diversity of cultures and amazing food that can be found in every street. Mexican, Korean, Japanese, Indian, Thai, Vietnamese, Italian, French, Spanish, Middle Eastern…you name it.

One of the all-time favourite cuisine in Hong Kong is Japanese food. Everyone here loves Japanese food. Whether it is oyakodon or any donburi, sushi, ramen noodles, or red bean desserts or tempura, they all have been favourites amongst the locals in Hong Kong.But the most popular dish/ type of Japanese food in Hong Kong would have to be sashimi. Everyone around here absolutely loves it and it is considered a delicacy here.

When I was younger I never really liked it. Raw fish basically all tasted the same in my mouth. The only real difference were the textures of fish – either soft melt-in-your-mouth or the tougher, chewier fish. I remember watching my friends or family stuffing themselves with raw fish whilst I would just choose to eat Japanese dumplings or sushi. I never really understood why everyone loved it. Of course, I’ve regretted that thought ever since. As I grew older, I found myself learning to adapt to new flavours and liking food that I had once hated as a young child. Now, I am absolutely crazy over sashimi especially salmon.  Sigh..If only had appreciated the beautiful fish I had eaten back then.

IMG_1753

So today, I made this beautiful sesame dressing (adapted from just one cookbook) not only to satisfy my cravings for Japanese food but to reminisce many fond memories associated with this cuisine. This salad is served frequently before main courses at many Japanese restaurants. I love this sesame dressing, not only because I’m a nut fanatic, but also because of its creaminess balanced with both sweet and sour. The key to making this dressing is you have to use Japanese Mayonnaise not the normals ones you used for salads. The brand I can find in Hong Kong is called “Kewpie Mayonnaise”.  I have adapted and adjusted this recipe so that its suits my tastebud perfectly, so feel free to change according to your liking (and just to mention I have quite a sweet tooth 🙂 not that its a bad thing!). Everyone who has tried it says its tastes amazing and this has been a dressing that often used for any last minute cooking.

Adapted from Just One Cookbook

Ingredients:

Salad:

  • Cucumber
  • Romaine lettuce
  • Carrots, Julienne
  • 1 can corn kernel, drained
  • 1 red bell pepper, cut into strips

Sesame dressing:

  • 7 tsp caster sugar
  • 4 tbsp of white sesame seeds, toasted
  • 4 tbsp rice vinegar/white vinegar
  • 5 tbsp japanese mayonnaise
  • 1 1/2 tsp sesame oil
  • 3 tbsp japanese soy sauce/ 1 tbsp light soy sauce
  1. Prepare the salad components and place into a large bowl.
  2. Mix all the ingredients for the dressing together.
  3. Serve the salad, slightly tossed in the dressing.

Love,

Zoe  &  Mia

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

