Egg Drop Soup with Zucchini Noodles (Paleo, GF, Oil-Free)

thumb_IMG_8773_1024

It seems to be a Chinese tradition to have soup after every meal. I never really enjoyed it at home. We would always make large batches of them in a huge thermal container. I simply would refuse to have it after my meals, although most of it would be gone by the time I decided I wanted some. My family loved it, but I just never developed an appreciation for it.

My grandmother used to make this delicious Chicken Soup often when she visited (which I find it hard to replicate). It would take her a couple of hours to cook it. The key ingredient was always fresh chicken (bone-in) from the local markets in Cheung Chau. I was forced to down a bowl whenever she was around. She passed about a year ago this time January whilst Zoe and I were on our missions. Although it was hard losing someone so close, being far from home serving the lord was where I knew I needed to be. Working hard in the freezing cold weather and plodding through the thick snow, I felt her spirit very strongly. At least I would stop to look around to see if she was there?  Sometimes I would be even talk to her silently praying that she would hear me.

Now a year later, every time I drink Chinese soup I think of the missed opportunities of telling her how much I appreciated her soup. I would happily down a whole bowl without complaints or forced smiles just as if she was still here watching my reaction. She is a woman of great faith and optimism. She welcomed anyone and loved serving guests. My dad would always talk about how strong she was. My grandpa, quiet and reserved, thought the world of her.

I hope as you enjoy this easy soup recipe, think of your family and loved ones. Tell them you love them more often. Its often when its too late that you wished you cherished those seemingly trivial things that really are the most important.

thumb_IMG_8779_1024thumb_IMG_8774_1024thumb_IMG_8783_1024

Adapted from SnixyKitchen

Ingredients – Serves 2

  • 1 medium-large Zucchini
  • 1 tbsp ginger, minced
  • 4 cups GF Chicken/Vegetable Broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes/powder
  • 1 cup thinly sliced scallions
  • 2.5 tbsp low-sodium GF soy sauce
  • 1.5 tbsp cornstarch
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Coriander Leaves (optional)

How to Make:

  1. Prepare Zucchini using the Spiralizer.
  2. Heat up a pot one over medium heat. Add in the ginger and stir for 2 minutes.
  3. Add in the 3 cups of chicken broth, water, red pepper flakes/powder, soy sauce and 3/4 cup of scallion.
  4. Bring to boil and stir occasionally.
  5. Carefully pour in the beaten eggs in a stream, stirring as you go.
  6. Mix cornstarch and 1 cup of broth together. Slowly pour into the soup and allow to cook for 4-5 minutes.
  7. Taste and season with salt and pepper.
  8. Add the spiraled noodles and allow to cook for 2 minutes till slightly soft.
  9. Dish out into bowls and sprinkle with remaining scallions and coriander leaves.

NOTES:

Paleo: Use coconut aminos instead of GF soy sauce. Beware that it may taste different but adjust accordingly!

Serve with Scallion Pancakes! (we’ve been experimenting with Gluten Free Scallion pancakes lately but haven’t been very successful yet!)

 

Love,

Zoe  &  Mia

Leave a Reply

