Jamie Oliver’s Low-Carb Indian Spiced Chicken Bake (Paleo, GF, Dairy Free, Nut-Free, Oil-Free)

Its been a rather hectic day.

Our morning started off early. Looking at the clock, it was 7:10AM – I really had to hurry if I wanted to make it  to class at 8. I quickly pulled on an oversized white shirt, trainers and some sweatpants, dashed out the door to my first class of the day – Business Marketing 241. A wave of hot air slapped me right in the face at me as I opened the front door.

Now my small apartment felt like Antartica compared to outdoors. Sweat beads ran down my face as I trekked my way up the 5 flights of stairs to the top of campus. Huffing and puffing, I pulled myself up the stairs. My arms felt warm and toasty already under the burning heat of the sun.

Edit Indian Chicken 23

Edit Indian Chicken 22

After a 2 hour and a half Business class, 1 hour Zumba class,  1 hour 40 minute service class and with all the running in between – I was drained. I’m not sure how I made it through class or the hot summer weather, but somehow I managed to survive.  The day was finally over.

I hurried home and a smile appeared on my face. It was the time of day I looked forward to the most. It was dinner time.

I moved quickly to grab my laptop and ingredients out of my fridge. Tonight was going to be special. We were making Jamie Oliver’s Spiced Indian Chicken with Squash. Zoe and I had managed to grab our hands on some fresh Roma tomatoes and we were ecstatic to use some for this dish. This dish had been in my repertoire far too long to leave it untouched.

The scent of the toasting spices was inviting and fragrant. Even though my legs were aching from Zumba, my body hot and sweaty from the sunlight shining into our apartment window, it was worth it.

A beeping noise sounded through the kitchen – it was the timer signaling that the chicken was done. At the same time, the sun was setting and the gorgeous bright sky started to fade in color – first it was oranges, then pinks and yellow, even purples and eventually dark shades of blues. It was almost like a disco ball reflecting in various spotlights of colors  into our apartment. I loved the sunset! Best of all, it was the perfect time to start photographing our delicious meal. I couldn’t help to stop in my tracks and admire the beautiful collage of colors in the sky before continuing with the session. This was a rare sight to see in Hong Kong. Once again it reminded of me how lucky I was to be living in Utah to witness this everyday for the rest of the summer.

Finally after a long day of school, an hour of cutting away, mixing spices and snapping photos on our camera, it was all done!

And here it is: our rendition of Jamie Oliver’s Indian Spiced “Squash” with Chicken. It was a perfect treat after a long day. We both didn’t even bother to grab extra plates instead we just each grabbed a fork and knife and tucked in.

Bon Appetit!

Edit Indian Chicken 24

AND FYI : our HK egg tarts and Spiced Beef Stew are featured on Allergy Free Thursdays this week, please check it out! An accomplishment worth celebrating!

Edit Indian Chicken 25

Edit Indian Chicken 28Adapted from JamieOliver

Ingredients – Serves 2

2 chicken thighs (seasoned with 1/4 tsp salt)

1/4 squash (spaghetti squash/butternut/acorn/kabocha), cubed*

3 roma tomatoes, quartered (if you are using cherry tomatoes, leave them whole)*

 

Spice Blend:

1/2 – 3/4 tbsp mustard seeds

5 curry leaves

1/2 tsp ground turmeric

1/2 tsp pureed ginger/ 0.5″ piece of fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbsp coriander stalks, finely chopped

1/2 tsp onion powder OR 1/4 fresh white (red) onion

1/4 tsp coriander seeds (optional)

1/2 tsp ground cumin (optional)

1/2 tsp salt

Garnish: Fresh Deseeded Chilis, Fresh Coriander Leaves, Smoked Paprika, Coconut Yoghurt/Coconut Cream (top of the can)

How to Make:

  1. Preheat your oven to 375F. Place your tray in the oven while it is preheating to warm up.
  2. Prep your vegetables and chicken (take off any extra fat). You want your tomatoes rather big – so quarters work well, but you want to make sure your spaghetti squash are proportionally smaller since they take longer to cook.
  3. Heat up a nonstick pan over medium high. Once hot, add in your spice blend except for the salt. Turn the heat to low and gently toast the spices until you smell its fragrance! Keep stirring occasionally to prevent burning.
  4. Take the pan off from the heat and stir in your 1/2 tsp salt. Toss in your vegetables and mix well!Edit Indian Chicken 26
  5. Rub 1/4 tsp salt into your chicken thighs. Next, gently mix them in with the vegetables so it gets some of the spices too.
  6. Remove your baking tray from the oven and arrange the vegetables in a single layer.
  7. Place your chicken on top of the vegetables.
  8. Return to oven until your chicken is just cooked through and your vegetables soft (this will depend on your oven – on average it takes around 30 minutes +). I like my chicken just cooked because after it goes under the broiler it won’t be overcooked or tough!Edit Indian Chicken 27
  9. Now turn your oven to a high broil and broil both sides for about 2-3 minutes till slightly golden brown.
  10. Sprinkle smoked paprika for flavour and color, deseeded chilis and fresh coriander. Serve with (optional): Coconut yoghurt  OR Coconut Cream mixed with fresh mint and lemon juice OR even with crusty bread OR quinoa.

*Substitutes for Vegetables:

  • Feel free to sub in an equivalent amount of any other types of vegetables. If you want  to add more vegetables, increase the spice blend according to how much more you adding in!
  • Great options include: Eggplant, onions, potatoes, sweet potatoes, bell peppers, fresh garlic.

LOVE,

Zoe & Mia

(This post is featured on Thursday Favorite Link Ups, Wednesday Round UpCreate It Thursdays Allergy Free Thursdays, TGIT Crazy Frenzy Fridays, What To Do Weekends Wicked Awesome WednesdayThinking LoudWeekend PotluckFriday FavoritesNest Builder’s Link UpFiesta Fridays, Gluten Free Fridays, FoodieFriDIY and Sunday Food and Fitness)

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. What a delicious way to use turmeric!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you Julia!! This meal really was quite incredible!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ginger Wroot says:

    So glad I came across your blog! Your photos of this chicken dish are stunning, and the dish itself looks oh, so yum! Pinned, and looking forward to trying it! –Ginger
    http://gingerwroot.com

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you! We really appreciate that! Definitely let us know how this recipe turns out! You’ll love the indian spices in this for sure! I can’t wait to check out your blog too!

      Like

  3. Margherita says:

    My mouth is drooling…. this chicken recipe would be very very appreciated in my house! Thanks a lot for being at FF this week!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you so much! You really can never go wrong with roasted chicken and vegetables especially with all the seasonal vegetables! I would love to hear how it turns out!

      Like

  4. Raia T. says:

    That looks (and sounds) amazing! Your photos are making me starving. 😉 Thanks so my for sharing it with us at Allergy Free Thursdays, Zoe! Hope to see you back again this week!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      No problem, thanks for your sweet comment Raia! We are definitely going to make sure to be there for Thursday!

      Like

  5. Indu says:

    Looks wonderful!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you Indu! Really appreciate your comment! Just had a chance to look at your blog and love the recipes, will have to try some of your Indian food and even your vegan ones!

      Like

Leave a Reply

