Fall-Inspired Graham Crackers (GF, Paleo, DF, Refined Sugar Free)

graham crackers, biscuits, crackers, cookies, fall, honey, paleo, healthy, snacks, dairy free, gluten free, fall, kidsBright orange pumpkins; the scent of cinnamon in the air; a beautiful carpet of faded leaves on the driveway. Fall is officially here.

From the blazing hot, humid summers, autumn transforms Hong Kong into a city of fallen leaves, cool breezes (perfect for hikes) and “sweater” land for students and for the businessmen.

graham crackers, biscuits, crackers, cookies, fall, honey, paleo, healthy, snacks, dairy free, gluten free, fall, kidsRight by our home, there is a steep hike up to Victoria Peak where one can experience the most stunning view of this incredible city. Especially during the cooler fall weather, I love going up there and leaning right against the railings to enjoy the breeze. I try to soak in the surreal panoramic picture of the skyscrapers and the harbor in front of me. Life gets so busy that I forget how beautiful this city really is especially under the night sky. By 8PM in the evening, every building, every floor, every window is illuminated with light. If you want some clarity and peace in this fast-paced city, the hills is where you need to be.

It was also the same place that Zoe and I spent a lot of our Saturday afternoons. When we were much younger, my grandparents used to take us up to play on the monkey bars and slides. Zoe and I would run around in our matching shorts and disney patterned shirts, while my grandparents sat to the side chatting. Time always seemed to fly by and there was never enough time for us to finish our silly games of make-believe or catch. Somehow we would always return in a mess – our white tennis shoes all blackened from the dirt and our pigtails loose. It looked like we had been pulling each other’s hair out. My grandmother would always look amused by the awful sight and patiently start redoing our hair with her never-ending supply of elastic bands from bottomless black purse…

graham crackers, biscuits, crackers, cookies, fall, honey, paleo, healthy, snacks, dairy free, gluten free, fall, kids

Some people may say there isn’t much to do in the city; that you can feel trapped (I guess there is some truth to it), but for me being in the city makes me alive. There is just something about the flashing neon lights; the honking car noises; the loud laughters and chatter that makes me feel content and happy. I love it. I am proud of being able to say that I grew up in such a wonderful, colorful city. I am grateful for the memories that this place has created for me over the turn of seasons and the years that go by. Each turn of the season is a precious gift. It is a time for reflection as your surroundings change. A time for new relationships and memories to be created. A time to simply stop and to take breather. A time to celebrate many great moments.

I hope that the beauty of this fall season will bring with it more unforgettable memories and moments. Thus, this is the time of year I start diving into my cupboards to find my absolute favourite fall spice – ginger (the flavor of my childhood and my grandmother’s kitchen) – to make an extra special treat. There is something about ginger that reminds me of home and also of fall. If thats what you’re thinking too, give this ginger-spiced graham crackers a try – maybe, just maybe fall will linger a little longer.

graham crackers, biscuits, crackers, cookies, fall, honey, paleo, healthy, snacks, dairy free, gluten free, fall, kids

Adapted from Powerhungry

Ingredients -makes about 25 crackers

  • 2 1/4 cup Almond Flour (purchased at Costco or Amazon)
  • 1 tsp GF baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3-4 tbsp honey

How to Make:

  1. In a bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients.
  2. Add the egg and honey.
  3. Use your hands to knead till well combined into a dough. Cover and refrigerate for 30 minutes.
  4. Preheat the oven to 325F.
  5. Place the dough in between 2 sheets of parchment paper. Roll it out till 1/4-1/8″ thick.
  6. Cut into 1.5″ x 3″ rectangles (or whatever size you prefer) with a pizza cutter or sharp knife.
  7. Bake for about 12-15 minutes or until crispy. Once the edges are slightly browning you know they are done.
  8. Cool for about 5 minutes before transferring them to a wire rack. Store in an airtight container.

You can eat them right away, or use them for pie crusts, cheesecake bases, crumbles, smores OR Serradura  🙂

Calories:

graham crackers, biscuits, crackers, cookies, fall, honey, paleo, healthy, snacks, dairy free, gluten free, fall, kids

LOVE,

Zoe & Mia

(This Post is featured on Twinkly TuesdaysTurn it Up TuesdayHearth and SoulCreate Link InspireTutorials & TipsHomesteader HopWhats Cookin’ WednesdaysWow Me WednesdaysAllergy Free ThursdaysCreate it ThursdaysFull Plate ThursdaysWeekend PotluckGluten Free FridaysFriday’s Five FeaturesTraffic Jam WeekendSunday Food and Fitness)

19 Comments Add yours

  1. twinkinsblog says:

    Lovely post! brings back memories of when I used to go hiking all over Hong Kong during my study abroad. I miss that place so much. Such a great city to live in! I loveee this recipe as well, I must try it with my kids. They love to eat biscuits, and I think this one is a MUCH healthy option compared to the usual ones I give them. #TwinklyTuesday xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you! Its early in the morning in Utah and my sister and I just read your comment! What a great start of the day for us! What an amazing opportunity you had to visit Hong Kong! I miss home a lot too! I hope you and your kids enjoy this recipe! It is extremely delicious! It tastes just like regular crackers! please let us know how it turns out! I hope you and your kids will enjoy this! Thank you again for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. interesting, i may try this just to see how dairy free and paleo tastes 😉 #TurnItUpTuesday

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you Brandi! Please do and let us know what you think? 😉 I hope you like the taste of these!

      Like

  3. Bethany says:

    They look great!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you Bethany! Thats really sweet of you!

      Like

  4. Miz Helen says:

    I love Graham Crackers, these look so good! Hope you are having a wonderful week and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Miz Helen

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you Helen! Isn’t graham crackers just the best?! I hope you have an amazing week too! WE LOVE full plate thursday! Thank you so so so much for hosting every week and taking the time to comment!

      Like

  5. ilkasblog says:

    These are really high quality graham crackers – so much better than store bought. Love that you used almond flour! Pinning and stumbling this recipe! I absolutely love it!!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      THANK YOU!!! 🙂 awww that is so sweet 🙂 Almond flour is just so versatile and so easy to use! thank you for sharing this! 🙂 Hope you have a great week!

      Like

  6. Raia T. says:

    These sound absolutely wonderful, ladies! 🙂 I’m excited to give them a try. Thank you so much for sharing them with us at Allergy Free Thursdays, they were our most popular link at last week’s party, so we’re all featuring them this week! 🙂

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      WOW! 🙂 Thank you Raia! This just MADE OUR DAY! We are honored to be featured on allergy free thursdays!

      Like

  7. Cathy says:

    This looks like a great recipe to have! I’ve pinned it to try!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you Cathy!!! Please do! These were delicious – a perfect snack! 🙂

      Like

  8. JULIE says:

    Do you know how long these would stay fresh on counter in an airtight container

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Julie, thanks for asking! I would keep it only for 2-3 in an airtight container. It may last a little longer but it won’t be as crispy or taste as good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

