15 MIN Shanghainese Sesame Noodles (GF, Vegan)

Vegan Take on a Classic Shanghainese Restaurant Dish with THE CREAMIEST Sesame Sauce! A great to make a gourmet meal with leftovers! Only 15 minutes!

Edit 1

Edit 14March 2017 Recipe Redux Challenge:

Spring Clean the Kitchen

Cook with at least 3 ingredients that are actually in your refrigerator or pantry right now. Try not to go to the store to buy anything new. Give tips on how to make a healthy dish out of whatever you have on-hand.

The heavy steps of our waitress and the clanking of the ornate Chinese porcelain bowls and cups could be heard as she set our table for us. I looked up to admire the beautiful scrolls of Chinese calligraphy hung on the walls, filled with elegant black strokes of old, sophisticated Chinese poetry. My dad picked up the menu set right at the center of our “revolving countertop” and began his usual task of ordering food for the family. His solemn face was a sign that he was thinking hard – which was not unusual since food was serious business in this family. After a few more minutes of contemplation and input from my mum, he set his pen down and waved down a waitress to take our order. I guess all we had to do was wait.

This was one of my favorite restaurants not just because of the food but because of the large windows by the kitchen where all could enjoy watching the chefs artfully make the dishes that would be served to us.

Edit 13

I stepped up on my tippy toes and glanced through the large transparent window right outside the kitchen. I watched in fascination as the white cladded chefs speedily rolled our small balls of dough into thin wrappers, stuffing them with marinated minced meat before piling them in gigantic bamboo steamers. From another angle, I observed another chef as he pulled out long, thin strands of wheat noodles between his fingers to about 1/2 meter long. It was like watching the Chinese form of Italian pasta making. I was just blown away at the expertise I had witnessed. The art of Chinese Noodles and dumplings were definitely a magnificent performance in it of itself. A skill that was much appreciated by my grumbling stomach.Edit 12

The entire meal was incredibly flavorful, after all it was one of the best Shanghainese restaurants in town. My absolute favorite, however, had to be the beautiful bowl of Shanghainese Chinese Sesame Noodles: paper thin, mung bean noodles, cucumbers, carrots, shredded chicken covered with a thick, sesame dressing. This was one of our family’s must-order dish every time we came here.

I twirled the flat wide noodles in my sauce and carefully lowered in into my mouth. The slippery noodles generously covered with the heavenly nutty sauce was ever so silky smooth. The contrast of light and rich; fresh and nutty was absolutely fascinating – a wonderful play of textures and flavors in my mouth. But of course, the most amazing part of this dish was the luscious sesame dressing that seemed to have captured everyone’s hearts.

I long for that delicious appetizer that I would enjoy with my family back home in Hong Kong. Unfortunately, a couple of spoonfuls of peanut butter here and there doesn’t quite do the trick.  During our family vacations, my dad would cook up Chinese egg noodles and scoop a few spoonfuls of Natural Almond butter for a quick meal. It was rich, nutty and satisfying – a clever play off of the Shanghainese sesame noodles. Zoe and I thought it was the best thing in the world next my dad’s infamous Cantonese tomato and egg scramble. While most parents might be fending off their kid’s hungry stomach with peanut butter and jelly sandwiches; mine opted for a bowl of nut butter and noodles.

Taking inspiration from my dad’s simple creation and the traditional Shanghainese sesame noodles, we decided to make recreate our version of Creamy Sesame Chinese Noodles with Tahini and some leftover cool crunchy vegetables. Restaurants usually will serve this dish with shredded chicken, but we chose to keep this vegan and well…simple? What’s truly amazing about this meal is that it is super fast – and I mean it! Just grab any leftover vegetables you have in your fridge – the more variety the better! Chop them all up, stick them in the pan with some of that deliciously creamy, ultra-addictive sauce. Stir that in with any kind of leftover pasta/ramen noodles/buckwheat noodles you have lying around – and you’re set!

Edit 10

That heavenly tahini dressing tinted with the scent of freshly roasted sesame seeds – really only consists of 6 ingredients – one including water from your tap. It is dead easy and guaranteed crowd pleaser. When we both stuck our fingers into taste the sauce, we were blown away. It tastes especially refreshing with the addition of lemon! So for kids who won’t eat your veggies, this is the perfect rainbow feast  – almost like a “Chinese Alfredo pasta” – that they will love! So here it is: Our take on a Classic Chinese Sesame Noodles in 15 minutes.

(We also reduced as much of the sesame oil as we could to keep this dish healthier).

Adapted from Daydaycook

Ingredients – serves 2

  • 150g Gluten Free Spaghetti/Angel Hair Pasta (5 – 5.5 oz)
  • 1 small carrot
  • 1/2 zucchini

Sauce:

  • 3 tbsp Tahini
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp Water
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 3/4 – 1 tsp sesame oil

How to Make:

  1. Mix together ingredients for the sauce. Set aside.
  2. Cook your pasta according to the directions on the package. Drain and submerge in cold water.
  3. Finely chop the zucchini and carrots into thin matchsticks.Edit 2
  4. Heat up a non-stick skillet, add your carrots and zucchini. Pour in half the sauce and mix well.
  5. Drain your pasta into a big mixing bowl and pour over the vegetable mixture. Add the rest of your sauce to taste.Edit 11
  6. Serve immediately.

LOVE,

Zoe & Mia

(Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.)

recipe-redux-linky-logo

(This post is featured on Healthy Vegan FridaysWeekend PotluckTraffic Jam WeekendfandayFridaySunday Food & FitnessTwinkly TuesdayHearth and Soul)

22 Comments Add yours

  1. So simple! My kids will love this – and I have all the ingredients. Yay!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks Serena! Hope they will! 🙂 Please let us know how it turns out!

      Like

  2. ItalianBelly says:

    I love recipes that can ‘clean out my fridge’ and that are fast and simple as well. Can’t wait to try it. #fdflinkparty

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks!!! I agree – I find myself always on the look out for simple recipes that uses ingredients I have in the fridge!!! Please do try it!! Hope you like it!!!!

      Like

  3. Cristina says:

    Wow. Your sesame noodles look so tasty. Pinned, I have to try it out!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks Cristina!!! 🙂 Hope you like it 🙂 We would love to hear about it goes!

      Like

  4. Patty says:

    Thanks so much for posting to the #fandayfriday link party! Hope you got some great traffic from the party this week hope to see you again next week!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks Patty! We hope so too!!! Have a great weekend!

      Like

  5. Eli Pacheco says:

    I love this concept! On weeks it’s been tough to go for groceries, this sort of game has yielded some fantastic dinners. I love especially the way you’ve sliced the veggies – the kids will hardly notice!

    Glad I found you through the Traffic Jam linkup.

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks Eli! 🙂 It looks appealing and tastes great too!! I definitely agree that being creative can yield some great meals! Thank you so much for stopping by! I really do hope your kids like it! Let us know how it goes!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. This looks so simple yet delicious! I love noodles so these will be a must-make for me!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks Mary Ellen! This was definitely a super duper easy Meal to throw together! Super excited for you to try it and definitely let us know how it turns out!

      Like

  7. Bethany says:

    This looks delicious!

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks Bethany!!!! 🙂

      Like

  8. You are really good at transporting your reader to another place. I can almost picture myself at the Shanghainese restaurant you were in. I’ve never been to anything like it, but I sure would like to someday. In the meantime, I will console myself with making these absolutely delicious sesame noodles.
    Thank you for sharing at Healthy Vegan Fridays. I’m pinning & sharing (and bookmarking to make soon!).

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thanks Kimmy!! You’re really so sweet! 🙂 that so so wonderful to hear! I do hope these tasty noodles will transport you to Asia!!! Thanks again for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  9. Jakijellz says:

    This looks delicious. #TwinklyTuesday

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      THANK YOU!!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Hooks and Dragons says:

    This looks wonderful and something I have never seen before. I will have to onvestigate to see where I can find tahini sauce. #twinklytuesday

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you!!! Please try it and let us know how you like it! We would love to hear from you! You can get tahini on Amazon or any local health food store!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. What a wonderful food experience you brought to life your post! I so enjoyed reading your memories. Love this deliciously simple recipe – and also how easily it can be adapted. Thank you so much for sharing your Shanghainese Sesame Noodles with us at Hearth and Soul. Hope you will visit again this week! Pinning and sharing.

    Like

    1. zoelaucy says:

      Thank you so much! 🙂 You’re so so sweet! I appreciate your kind comment! We will definitely be visiting again soon!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

